Search FFHMT'15:
Bookmark and Share



Upcoming Dates


Camera Ready Submission Deadline



Author Registration Deadline



First Day of Conference


The keynote information for the International Conference on Fluid Flow, Heat and Mass Transfer (FFHMT'15) will be announced soon. We appreciate your patience!



Dr. Xianshe Feng

     Professor X. Feng is an internationally renowned scholar on membranes and membrane separations. He is on the Editorial Boards of Journal of Membrane Science and Separation and Purification Technology, the premier journals in the area. He also serves as a subject Editor (“Separation”) for Chemical Engineering Research and Design>. In addition, he is on the International Advisory/Editorial boards of several journals in Malaysia, Pakistan and Iran. He has also been on the Scientific and/or Advisory Committees of numerous international conferences. To date, he has published over 130 refereed journal papers, and made over 80 presentations at national/international conferences (including many Plenary and Keynote Lectures) and over 60 invited seminars/lectures at companies and institutions worldwide. He is a recipient of numerous awards, including the Premier’s Research Excellence Award (2005), the University of Waterloo Outstanding Performance Awards (2006, 2010 and 2014) and Faculty of Engineering Distinguished Performance Awards (2002, 2005 and 2013).

Topic of Keynote: Permeate pressure build-up in hollow fiber membranes: Facts and perceptions


Dr. Dayong Gao

     Dr. Dayong Gao is Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Bioengineering, and Director of Center for Cryo-Biomedical Engineering and Artificial Organs at University of Washington, Seattle, WA.

     Prior to joining University of Washington, Dr. Gao was Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering at University of Kentucky where he was honored as Endowed Alumni Professor and Baxter Healthcare Corp Chair in Engineering, respectively. Dr. Gao’s major research focuses and scientific contributions are in the following areas: (1) fundamental research in bio-thermal science and cryobiology, revealing the mechanisms of cryoinjury to living biological systems at low temperatures, and development of optimal methods and novel technology/equipment for long-term cryopreservation/banking of living cells, tissues and organs for regenerative medicine, tissue engineering, cellular therapy, gene therapy, and organ transplantation; (2) development of a new generation of artificial organs, especially, artificial kidney and artificial liver systems for treatment of the patients with end-stage kidney and liver failure; and (3) bio-instrument and biosensors/BioMEMS for early, rapid and cost-effective diagnosis and detection of diseases with high sensitivity and specificity.

     Dr. Gao’s research work has been recognized and supported by numerous Awards/Grants and research funding agencies, including National Institutes of Health (NIH), Department of Defense, National Science Foundation, National Cancer Society, American Heart Association, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, Whitaker Foundation, Washington Research Foundation, and industries. Dr. Gao has authored or co-authored over 200 full scientific research papers in prestigious journals, 2 scientific books, and 17 book chapters. He also published over 350 manuscripts in conference proceedings. Currently, he serves as the Editor-in-Chief, Section Editor, or on Editorial Board of 10 scientific journals. He received numerous national/international awards and honors, and most recently he received “the 2013 Asian American Engineer of the Year Award” and “the Bill Melinda Gates Foundation Award 2014”.

     Dr. Gao received his B.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering from University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) affiliated with Chinese Sciences Academy in 1983, and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Concordia University, Montreal, Canada in 1991. He is honored with the Distinguished Master Chair Professor in his alma mater USTC.

Topic of Keynote: Freezing of Living Cells and Tissues: A Great Challenge in Thermal Science and Modern Medicine


Dr. Javad Mostaghimi

     Dr. Javad Mostaghimi the Distinguished Professor in Plasma Engineering in the Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering and Director of the Centre for Advanced Coating Technologies at the University of Toronto. He received a BSc degree from Sharif University, Iran, in 1974, and MSc and PhD degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in 1978 and 1982, respectively. Before joining University of Toronto in 1990, he held positions at Pratt & Whitney Canada, Longueil, Quebec, and the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, Quebec.

     His main research interests are the study of thermal spray coatings, transport phenomena and electromagnetics in thermal plasma sources; in particular, study of the flow, temperature, and electromagnetic fields within arcs and RF inductively coupled plasmas . Professor Mostaghimi has done extensive simulation of the dynamics of droplet impact and solidification in thermal spray processes.

     Professor Mostaghimi is a fellow of the following professional societies: ASME, CSME, ASME, EIC, CAE, AAAS, and IUPAC. He is a recipient of the 75th Anniversary Medal of the ASME Heat Transfer Division, the recipient of the 2013 Robert W. Angus Medal of the CSME, 2012 Heat Transfer Memorial Award of the ASME, 2011 Jules Stachiewicz Medal of the CSME, 2010 NSERC Brockhouse Canada Prize and the 2009 Engineering Medal in R & D from the Professional Engineers of Ontario.

     He is a member of the editorial board of Plasma Chemistry and Plasma Processing and a member of the International Review Board of the Journal of Thermal Spray.

Topic of Keynote: Dynamics of Fluid Flow and Heat Transfer During the Impact of Molten Droplets on a Substrate


Dr. Ishwar K. Purit

     Dr. Ishwar K. Puri is dean of the Faculty of Engineering and professor at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He has served as Secretary of the American Academy of Mechanics. He is the author of over 140 archival publications and books, which have been cited over 3500 times in the scientific literature per Google Scholar with an H-Index of 32. He is a founder and mentor of Nanospin, which is a startup that has developed a cooling system for computers and electronic devices that uses a liquid dispersion of magnetic nanoparticles to dissipate waste heat. He obtained his Ph.D. (1987), and M.S. (1984) degrees in Engineering Science (Applied Mechanics) from the University of California, San Diego after obtaining a B.Sc. (1982) in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Delhi (Delhi College of Engineering).

Topic of Keynote: Our Creeping Future: Stokes Flow Enabling Tomorrow’s Materials














 International ASET Inc.    |    Subscribe to our Mailing List    |    Terms of Use    |    Sitemap

© Copyright 2014 International ASET Inc. – All Rights Reserved
For Comments Please Contact the Webmaster